Profile  Register  Calendar  Memberlist  FAQ  Search Home  
Tribes RPG Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.0.3 Tribes RPG Forums > Misc > Technical Support > Screwed Characters
  Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread    Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Other
OgreHalberdier

Registered: Mar 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 319

Unhappy

For some reason when I go on GSN now, I get a black screen. I press tab, and the only thing I can do is form parties, set default #say, ignore Global, etc. I can see what other people say by pressing ~, but for the most part it seems my character is screwed now. This also happened to someone else on the same server, and he had to start another character.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Other is offline Old Post 03-15-2001 10:40 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Other Click here to Send Other a Private Message Click Here to Email Other Find more posts by Other Add Other to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
MadForIt
GoblinThief

Registered: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 76

That happend to me twice on GSN a while ago. It seemed to happen if I put illegal characters in my info (like ~ ) ?!?

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

MadForIt is offline Old Post 03-15-2001 11:58 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for MadForIt Click here to Send MadForIt a Private Message Click Here to Email MadForIt Find more posts by MadForIt Add MadForIt to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Deus_ex_Machina
God from Machine

Registered: Mar 2001
Location: Fort Walton Bch Florida
Posts: 1505

Happened to me on NeverQuest, after i mimic a runt the server crashed and i joined later and just seen black screen, pressed Tab and stuff, Good thing Xanth was there , #tell him to clear my char, hehe.


__________________

-Deus ex Machina JI's l33t music for those lonely scripting nights

Happy Snake


Tribes stuff


onLoad=type_text()>

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Deus_ex_Machina is offline Old Post 03-16-2001 02:42 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Deus_ex_Machina Click here to Send Deus_ex_Machina a Private Message Click Here to Email Deus_ex_Machina Visit Deus_ex_Machina's homepage! Find more posts by Deus_ex_Machina Add Deus_ex_Machina to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Dragoon
GoblinWizard

Registered: Mar 2001
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 89

There was an ancient bug called the Black Screen of Death in RPG. And has long being fixed, try this.... make sure your chat box is empty (probably U or Y key) and type #wake, if admin do #revert.

That has worked for me all the times I had the BSD recently.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Dragoon is offline Old Post 03-16-2001 05:15 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Dragoon Click here to Send Dragoon a Private Message Click Here to Email Dragoon Find more posts by Dragoon Add Dragoon to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Other
OgreHalberdier

Registered: Mar 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 319

I can't use any chat or zone chat; #tell and #wake don't work. I also have no race and no skills (I ran a speech script, and it tells me I'm "increasing my skill in speech. (0)".)
I don't care so much about the lvls and sp as the stuff I had collected. I had almost every item, and would've gotten k armor soon...
Hrmmm... If i logged on, is there a way an admin could #setrace race? Maybe that would work.

Last edited by Other on 03-16-2001 at 04:08 PM

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Other is offline Old Post 03-16-2001 04:01 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Other Click here to Send Other a Private Message Click Here to Email Other Find more posts by Other Add Other to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
FOAD
Guest

Registered: Not Yet
Location:
Posts: N/A

quote:
Originally posted by Other
I can't use any chat or zone chat; #tell and #wake don't work. I also have no race and no skills (I ran a speech script, and it tells me I'm "increasing my skill in speech. (0)".)
I don't care so much about the lvls and sp as the stuff I had collected. I had almost every item, and would've gotten k armor soon...
Hrmmm... If i logged on, is there a way an admin could #setrace race? Maybe that would work.



This can also happen if an admin simply renames a character without modifying the script in the .cs file to reflect the new name. I tried copying FOAD's stats once and pasting them into Banshee's .cs. Result=BSD and no stats.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 03-16-2001 05:17 PM
Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 06:59 PM.    Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Last Thread   Next Thread
[ Show a Printable Version | Email This Page to Someone! | Receive updates to this thread ]

Forum Jump:
Rate This Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is ON
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - Tribes RPG >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.0.3
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.

Anything posted on these forums or privately messaged to any dev
team member (including email) becomes property of the Tribes RPG team.